Follow us on:

facebook   Twitter   Flickr   Youtube


Reservations:
Rye: - 01797 222043
Margate: - 01843 231504

Email:

info@theambrette-rye.co.uk


24 High Street,
Rye,
East Sussex TN31 7JF.

For map details click here.
To reserve a table click here.

Opening Times:

Lunch Monday to Sunday:
11.30am to last orders 2.30pm.
Dinner Monday to Thursday:
6.00pm to last orders 9.30pm
Dinner Friday to Sunday:
5.30pm to last orders 10.00pm

Customer Reviews

 

The chef has a real feel for spices and delivers wonderful flavours and a memorable dining experience. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Rye. 8th September 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk

The first time I tried to get in it was fully booked so we got a table a few days later as we were keen to try it out due to the reviews on this site. We were at least 40 minutes late due to the crowds from the beach but they were really relaxed about it. It is in a really lovely building and we were in a paneled room with 3 other tables. The staff were very attentive and highly professional - the lady who appeared to be in charge was just fab - so efficient - we all really liked her. The food was very good and the portions were perfect. We got lots of freebies in between courses which were all really tasty. The food was amazing and obviously cooked with a lot of care. They really went out of their way to accommodate my 9 year old niece who is lactose intolerant and made a special fruit salad for dessert which was not on the menu. It was a great experience. The staff are very friendly. 19th August 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk marmite7
 
We ate at Ambrette in Rye yesterday evening when Dev (the very charming and talented owner) himself was cooking - we had the most amazing meal, every course being truly delicious, beautifully and delicately spiced. A fantastic food experience in a very stylish restaurant with lovely warm, friendly and attentive staff. A definite must if you are visiting Rye or live locally. 21st July 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk mg7199

Having passed the restaurant during the day and viewed the menu boards, we decided to give it a try. We never expected it to be so proper and so good! The first thing that surprised us was being served bubbles with pomegranate pieces floating in. Service was very properly taken care of. Each dish explained, extra complementary 'in between courses' included and the food presented in a way that would give top Michelin starred chefs a run for their money. But apart from all this, our biggest shock was when we got the bill - we could not believe how LOW it was, even with service included. What a fabulous place. 14th June 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk R1KCX
 
You will not be disappointed by the welcome and personal service provided by Lauren and Lance, who made our visit a special one. The food was of the highest quality and excellent value. Situated within a building on the high street with great character, we were treated to complimentary bubbly and canapes in a large drawing room to review the menu and wine list before we went in to dine. Do not be put off if you do not like Indian food, this is very special and in no way can be thought of as "an Indian". Would love to live closer and revisit regularly. 28th May 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk Peter H

We ate the fixed price lunch here today and the food and service were fantastic. We were seated in the lounge with the menus where we enjoyed a glass of wine. I chose the dosa and then pork. Both were beautifully cooked and presented and the flavours distinct and spice level just perfect. I can't fault the meal or service and the little pre courses that were served were lovely additions. Can't wait to go back. 8th April 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk Kent2

We were delighted to find the Rye Ambrette was as good as the original in Margate. We took friends with us so it was especially nice that they too enjoyed their first visit. The decor is beautifully elegant and comfortable. The food was delicious, love the way they inform you as to each component. We were there for nearly 3 hours and were never rushed. Superb value particularly for over 60s. 27th March 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk silvertraveller0
 
From arrival to leaving, the staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. The food was not only a delight to savour, but also exquisitely presented. Cannot wait to return. 24th February 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk lastinthequeue
 
We arrived at the Ambrette and were greeted with a very warm welcome and given a lovely glass of bubbly. There was no rush to choose our menus as we sat in the lounge area in front of a roaring fire. The food was amazing and the flavours were out of this world. The staff could not do enough for you and you were made to feel very special in a relaxed environment. I would highly recommend it to others and also its sister restaurant in Margate. 22nd January 2012 Tripadvisor.co.uk michelle h
 
Try this restaurant - it's a real treat! Last Saturday six of us enjoyed dinner at the newly opened Ambrette Restaurant, in the lovely White Vine House. Fantastic food, service and atmosphere! We were all impressed and will definately return. 21st December Tripadvisor.co.uk Jane T     

  Lovely Setting, Great Food. We had a lovely lunch at the Ambrette which has just opened in Rye High St. We've been to the sister restaurant in Margate Old Town, which has won many accolades for its food and service, and we were hopeful for a similarly good experience. I'm pleased to say that the food in the new Ambrette is just as wonderful. To start the meal delicious pre starters of warm chicken dumplings were presented to us. I then had the Claresse (fish) starter which was encrusted with spices, and was divine and and just how I remembered it. An espresso cup of hot and subtly spiced tomato soup came out as an intermediate course. The kedgeree main course was really creamy and well balanced.Service was warm and the setting is magnificent - one of nicest restaurant settings I've seen in a while. Don't forget to sit in the lounge in front of the enormous fireplace before or after you go through to dine. If you get a choice, the rear dining room looks even nicer than the front one.Overall, we are delighted to have an Ambrette closer to where we live and will be going back soon!
11th December 2011 tripadvisor.co.uk  Bass_and_drums    

Extraordinay find, wonderful food. The food was exquisitely presented and delivered by staff who were clearly proud of their restaurant and the food. We were surprised by the complimentary dishes and the fact that the staff took their time to explain each dish as it was presented. Each course was delicious, with the duck and lamb simply melting in the mouth. Dessert was wonderful  and perfectly portioned so we could try a few diferent ones - chocolate silk is a MUST! Friendly, attentive staff and the historical nature of the restaurant added to a memorable night that I can't wait to repeat.. 11th December 2011. tripadviosr.co.uk flyingmoneybunny. Bexhill-on-Sea    

Simpy perfect, an eating experience you won't forget. My husband and I visited the new Ambrette restaurant at Rye which already scores points as it is such a picturesque area. The building is lovely, ehe service is wonderful and the contemporary cuisine is bursting with flavour and really something special. The little food touches between courses are a real treat and the ingredients are so fresh and delicious. We could not recommend this restaurant highly enough, it is most definitely a MUST!
29th November. tripadvisor.co.uk Rhona1971 

  We went to the new “Ambrette” restaurant in Rye for an evening meal, and what a treat it was! The food was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and very imaginative. The staff was lovely, friendly, attentive and always on the ball. Excellent experience. The restaurant is housed in one of Rye’s historic buildings. It was very cosy and we felt completely relaxed, whilst being treated like king and queen. I must say the “Ambrette” restaurant deserves its outstanding reputation and we can only recommend it.
25th November tripadvisor.co.uk funzel

I've never eaten such fine food. Every course was presented impeccably, with attention to the smallest detail, my meat was cooked to perfection and accompanied by delicate and aromatic Indian food. My coconut ice cream dessert on warm milk rice on a biscuit with sliced sweet dumpling was divine. A wonderful evening I hope to repeat in the near future.
24th November. tripadvisor.co.uk DonQuixoteJNR